MY NEW LIFE IN SOUTH AFRICA 

It’s been almost a year and a half since I moved to the other side of the world.
Africa.

South Africa.

It’s autumn now, almost winter, while the Northern Hemisphere is expecting the summer. 

The stars are different. 

August brings hot wind and red dust, December – heat waves and rain that does stop for a week. 

There are eleven official languages in South Africa and countless accents. 


Most people go home before sunset; the day starts at 5 in the morning with the shouts of the incredibly loud hadeda birds. People sing while walking on the streets. 

Now I know what is the true meaning of the safaris.

I’m not afraid of lions anymore. I know how to track different animals in the savannah and have no problem sleeping in a cave. 

The Ocean’s waves are huge but that makes them great for surfing. 

I made friends with a few blue cranes and a penguin colony. I learned more in one year that I had learned during my entire 4-year undergraduate degree . I know who are the people that I can trust even when I’m at the end of the world.

 I used to wait for the summer to come, now I’ve come to the summer. Because at the end of the day, the winter in South Africa is like a nice summer day in most countries.


Life is short and precarious and boring, so we must take the opportunity to change this and live it the way we want it to be.
No reason to stay is a good reason to go.

Leave a Reply

